Maybe cooking is

Superbowl Mexican Dinner

Posted on: February 7, 2011

Most people will tell you cooking Mexican or Tex Mex dinners aren’t difficult.  But I’ve never really attempted one until this year’s Superbowl.  And even if the ads weren’t a success this year, the dinner was with my friends Erin and Melissa.

The complete dinner (clockwise from top): guacamole, Spanish rice, refried beans, pork.

First, I somewhat followed this crockpot recipe, but I’m glad I also checked the community comments beneath the recipe.  I didn’t add any liquid and instead opened two 8 oz. cans of green chilis to put at the base.  I needed to put an ingredient between the meat and the bottom of the pot to keep the meat from overcooking.  Then I smeared the pork shoulder chunks (because I had it cut into boneless ribs) with Old El Paso’s 40% reduced sodium taco seasoning.  Set it on low and let it cook for 6 hours.  When I removed the meat, it had created its own juice to simmer in with the spices.

The Spanish rice was a box kit from Old El Paso – pretty good and easy to let simmer for 25 minutes.  Which was great because as that was cooking, I put together the ingredients for guacamole.  First I chopped up half an onion and then 2 Roma tomatoes.  I added lots of cilantro to the bowl, and grated some rock salt and peppercorns.  Then I squeezed half a lime and added 4 avocados.  The secret kick: jalapeno juice, either from a fresh pepper or from a jar of sliced peppers (which is what I used).  Then hashed it all together.  I added the avocado pits back in to keep the guacamole green (a tip I picked up from my friend, Caitlin) and served it with chips and Jack’s Special Medium and Thick & Chunky Garden Fresh salsas.

Guacamole!!

The final ingredient to the dinner was refried beans.  Easiest part of the meal.  2 cans of refried beans in a sauce pan on the stove top, added some Herdez salsa verde and Mexican shredded cheese, and topped with mild sliced jalapenos.  Let that heat up until the cheese melted, and then put everything together on the plate.  So.  Good.

Refried beans with salsa verde, shredded cheese and mild jalapeno slices.

Oh, and I forgot to post this recipe for pork chops last week, but it was another one I tried over the break that was good as long as you follow the advice in the comments.  It was served on New Year’s Eve with this concoction for potatoes au gratin.

Quote of the week: “Worthless people live only to eat and drink; people of worth eat and drink only to live.” Socrates (469 – 399 BCE)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my cooking blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 6 other followers

