Maybe cooking is

Dirt Pudding & Turkey Chili

Posted on: October 22, 2010

After a stressful week, I found myself listening to Tears for Fears and Queen’s “Fat-Bottomed Girls” and making chocolate pudding.  Not exactly my moment.

Or is it?  Is this just exactly what I need?  Do I need to feel like I’m in a late 90s chick flick dancing around the kitchen a la Meg Ryan/ Julia Roberts/ Sandra Bullock style with chocolate smeared on my cheek and a pudding-covered whisk to use as my microphone, singing “I just died in your arms tonight“?

Anyway, the pudding is actually just a step in making the audience-pleaser dessert: dirt.  A combination of chocolate pudding, crumbled Oreo, cool whip, and gummy worms, it’s a perfect Halloween display.  And I’m in luck.  I have a potluck Halloween party tomorrow night.

I used whole milk to make the pudding extra creamy.

Mixed pudding! I played with the whisk to make swirly patterns.

Crushed oreos added.

Mixed in the cool whip.

Close up. Irresistible.

I don’t have pictures of the pudding cups with dirt and worms since it’s just prep for tomorrow, but I will next week!

I also made some slow-cooker turkey chili.

First I had to brown the ground turkey on the stove with some olive oil.

Turkey turns a greyish color when cooked fully.

Grey. Told you. But I had to drain the liquid before adding it to the crock pot.

I chopped up my onions coarsely and smeared butter on the sides of the crockpot. The layering in starts with turkey then onions.

Then the kidney and black beans.

To avoid splashing, the condensed tomato soup went in next just before lots of spices, including chili flakes to give it a kick. So pretty!

The fun part is mixing those layers before setting it to cook. Ready to simmer for 4 hours.

After simmering. Turkey chili ready for eating.

Shredded some sharp cheddar cheese, some fat-free sour cream and some green onion on top. Mmm dinner.

This is a really tasty chili.  I don’t usually have sour cream with my chilis, but it added such a richness that I have to recommend the toppings.

University foodie explorations

Campus Recreation has a “healthy cooking” program that is surprisingly robust for being housed in the Athletic Recreation Center, or the largest campus gym (which even has an indoor rock climbing wall!).  I was tempted to join the cookbook club until I saw that it focuses on basic skill building (i.e. making chicken and rice).

The instructional video recipe archives are kind of cool.

Or you can see the list of recipes and cookbooks, which have a number of vegetarian options, if you’re looking for some ideas.

An interesting marketing ploy I noticed: the local grocery store County Market offers cooking classes and “healthy food tours” of their stores.  Ironic that the instructor’s name is Hope?

Only in the Midwest

Things like the Chicago Cubs Cookbook make me think the Midwest is cute.  Because you know that these athletes are consuming large quantities of their “all-star recipes.”  But despite a cover photo taken in a style stolen from The Rascals, I remain unconvinced that they make what they eat.  So posed, somewhat comical.

Published August 15, 2010! Order yours now!

Thought of the week from the 1980 movie, Popeye: “I would gladly pay you Tuesday for a Hamburger today.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my cooking blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 6 other followers

