Maybe cooking is

Veal Scallopini & Catch-up

Posted on: October 14, 2010

Wow, what a hiatus.  It’s October.

But I’m back.  And I’ve got lots of pictures and recipes to share.

Tonight, I made veal scallopini with a baby bella mushroom gravy.  I know it sounds fancy, but it’s really not, and it’s pretty easy, even though I modified the directions.

 

Veal frying with olive oil and butter.

 

First, I breaded and fried the veal.

 

Veal - pink au jus stage.

 

You can tell the veal finishes cooking when its juices run clear (as opposed to pink).

 

Breaded and cooked veal cutlets.

 

After I removed the cutlets from the pan, I deviated.  I decided to melt the rest of the butter to saute the sliced mushrooms.

 

Mushroom saute

 

Then I poured in the broth on top and mixed in the remnants of the fried dough.  I like thick gravies, so I let it simmer for about 30 minutes and stirred occasionally.  This really let the broth absorb the flavor of the dough, which then the mushrooms absorbed.  Oh, and I forgot to add the parsley, but I didn’t really need it anyway.

 

Simmered for 30-45 minutes to create a thicker gravy.

 

I served it with some real mashed potatoes!  …That I picked up from the grocery store pre-made.  Resorting to short cuts isn’t cheating if it tastes good, right? The whole meal was really tasty.

 

Veal in mushroom gravy with mashed potatoes on the side.

 

 

The close up

 

As a side note, I’ve switched over to using real, unsalted butter instead of margarine.  And I’m kind of into organic fruits now, especially berries.

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

In other food-news, I have discovered some precious resources on the University of Illinois’ campus.  One is the Bevier Cafe located just down the block from my department office.  This is the “food laboratory” for students in the Food Science and Human Nutrition department, who also staff and manage it.  It.  Is.  Awesome.

The other resource, down the hall from Bevier Cafe, is the Spice Box.  This is the student-run restaurant in the Hospitality Department and appeals more to a fine-dining experience with a price fixe menu and two-course special menu.  I have plans to visit it shortly but it honestly takes more concentrated effort due to reservations and scheduled dining events, of which there are none in the immediate future.  I’ll keep my eye on it.

My cooking, plus endless new cuisine experiments, should tempt you East Coasters to come visit!  🙂  As far as the past items, I’ve been cooking, take a look below and tell me what you like.  Also I have random pictures from this past summer.

Bellamy Mansion, Wilmington, NC – late June

 

Some say the Bellamy House is still haunted by its former servants.

 

 

Bellamy porch. I have one of my other photos of the grounds hanging up in my apartment. Come see it!

 

 

The famous, modern servant staircase in the antebellum mansion.

 

Cooking in Chicago – mid-July to mid-August

 

Sisterly effort: this meal includes steamed asparagus and a turkey sausage and sun-dried tomato main (my contributions) and a mozzarella, tomato and basil paired with fresh sangria (from my sister).

 

 

I whipped together a penne pasta sauce incorporating: Trader Joe's organic vodka sauce as the base with added onion, black olive, and shrimp.

 

 

Lady Gaga singing live at Lollapalooza. We stood in a crowd for three hours, but it was worth it so I could dance to rah rah ah ah ahhh. My sister got this shot! I want her bra.

 

Cooking in Urbana-Champaign – late August-present

 

Local Curtis Orchard apples for some apple pie.

 

 

Gooey, apple pie sugar syrup. I added two tablespoons of cinnamon to the recipe.

 

 

Apples added into the mix.

 

 

Softening up those apples.

 

 

I'm getting better at my pie lattice-work.

 

 

Close-up of the finished pie.

 

 

Dinner: rib-eye steak with A1 sauce and sweet potato with a Blue Moon citrus splash on the side.

 

 

Zataran's dirty rice mix for a Southern-themed dinner party.

 

 

Dirty rice after simmering for a half hour. It was a hit at the party!

 

 

Dinner: salt and peppered, broiled pork and steamed asparagus with lemon juice.

 

Thought for the week (which fits nicely with my study of media): “It’s amazing how pervasive food is. Every second commercial is for food. Every second TV episode takes place around a meal. In the city, you can’t go ten feet without seeing or smelling a restaurant. There are 20 foot high hamburgers up on billboards. I am acutely aware of food, and its omnipresence is astounding.” – Adam Scott, author, The Monkey Chow Diaries, June 2006

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my cooking blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 6 other followers

