Maybe cooking is

Spring Means Outdoor Dining!

Posted on: April 13, 2010

Spring is a great time for warm weather just before the mosquitoes get wise that I’m outdoors.  Any opportunity I can find to merge outdoor ambiance with meals, I take advantage of with a religious attention to the inner and outer balance of dining contentedness.  While I don’t currently have a backyard or deck (though Southern Living makes me wish I did), I think this past weekend and Easter weekend were both successful balances.

A popular color for Easter and springtime is yellow, and I found it in abundance at the gorgeous lakeside restaurant Riva during brunch with my mom:

Mimosas and vanilla mousse (colored yellow) and a yellow sweater!

While I was in Philadelphia visiting my friend Raha, my friend Mitra and I bought some homemade fresh pasta from Superior Pasta Company in the Italian Market.  Here’s a picture of us at our delicious brunch across from Superior at Sabrina’s:

Hungry at Sabrina's Cafe in the Italian Market. Check out the challah french toast!

So the outdoors and my homemade pasta came together this past weekend in a wonderful culmination.  I decided to make a mushroom, white wine cream sauce (which was easier than the red sauce I made, surprisingly) over the spinach and goat cheese pasta from Philly.  And because the weather was absolutely perfect, I trotted up to the rooftop with my friend Jacob to enjoy the sunset.  Here was the menu:

  • Appetizer: Green leaf lettuce salad with shredded carrot and Italian dressing
  • Main: Goat cheese and spinach pasta with an onion-mushroom cream pasta sauce
  • Drink: 2008 Fetzer Sauvignon blanc (Fetzer has a devotion to sustainability, which means I’ll be buying more of it)
  • Dessert: Strawberries and blackberries with sugar

On the roof

The dinner - vegetarian no less!

Pasta close-up: worthy of the 15 seconds of fame.

Thought for the week: “Life is a combination of magic and pasta.” – Federico Fellini

5 Responses to "Spring Means Outdoor Dining!"

Mmm! That pasta sounds delicious! And I like the colorful berries in the matching bowl.

I also love how you match the mimosas and mousse. Very cute.

Your roof looks like fun! I made the Spinach Ravioli and it was delicious. We need to make a trip back to Philly to taste-test the food trucks.

The food looks good, and GIRL. I love that shirt. Perfect for the evening I think. Rooftop and a flowy spring/summer fresh white shirt. Marvelous…

Any chance you’ll post the recipe?

Yes ma’am. Here’s a link to a similar sauce recipe:
http://www.helpwithcooking.com/sauces/mushroom-sauce.html

It’s the first one (white wine, cream and mushrooms). Happy sauteing!

OOOO! thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my cooking blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 6 other followers

