Maybe cooking is

Brunch & Baked Chicken and Tomatoes with Fettucine

Posted on: February 8, 2010

I didn’t get a chance to write about my brunch last weekend, but I’ve got the full scoop for you in this post plus this weekend’s recipe!

Last weekend, I hosted a brunch with my roommates and my friend Megan.

Let me just say that I’m not a morning person.  So really any foray I make into the breakfast part of a cookbook should be applauded.

Secondly, mimosas are always approved.

Thirdly, my roommates – Julia and Jessica – are awesome cooks with backgrounds in gourmet and commercial cooking (Julia worked here last summer), which means the average breakfast instantly becomes more creative.  They push me to try new things, plus they explain cooking (even though sometimes they disclaim, “don’t try this at home/ without supervision because what I’m doing is dangerous”).  Think of two Indiana Joneses in a one-person sized kitchen.  (Pause for visual.)  Conclusion: they’re amazing.

This was my first attempt at these dishes in various ways.  For instance, I’ve never made bacon on the stovetop.  I quickly learned to keep the temperature low to avoid splattering, hot oil.  And instead of ol’ reliable scrambled eggs, Jessica suggested a frittata.  A frittata, a type of Italian omelet or crustless quiche that includes anything you want to throw into it (a convenient place for leftover dinner meats, so I’m told), is easy and delicious.  Sold.  Loosely following a recipe, I scrambled 9 eggs and mixed in milk, spinach, green pepper, onion, shitake mushrooms, parmesan cheese and crumbled bacon with slices of Swiss cheese on top.

While I managed these two items, Jessica and Julia took the reins on the ebelskivers, which are essentially pancake balls filled with blueberry preserves and have a special pan (Rachel Ray says you can get them from Bed, Bath & Beyond).  Ebelskivers can burn easily and take special attention, so I observed J & J this round.  Topped off with champagne mimosas, the brunch menu was a hit:

  • Main: Frittata and ebelskivers with maple syrup
  • Side: Bacon
  • Drink: Mimosas

Frittata

Bacon

Ebelskivers with blueberry preserves

This weekend was the snow-M-G/ snowpocalypse.  Virginia’s Governor declared it a state of emergency Thursday before any hint of precipitation on Friday.  Naturally I was on alert with the rest of the district and we stocked up at the grocery store as if we would never see food again.  Hand baskets and shopping carts were in demand.  The woman behind me in line forgot her reusable bags in her car but didn’t want to leave the checkout line to get them.  I imagine both the grocery stores and the city government benefited from the snowstorm.

My car in snowpocalypse before digging it out.

At the National Cathedral on Sunday.

Sunday was my big cooking day.  For breakfast, I whipped up scrambled eggs and Swiss cheese with Texas Pete hot sauce, bacon, and toast with butter and blueberry preserves.  It wasn’t my main focus, but I thought I’d mention the effort.

My resolution-inspired dish was dinner.  I selected a baked chicken and tomatoes with fettuccine recipe from Beatrice Ojakangas, a food writer who has appeared on TV with Julia Child and Martha Stewart and studied with Simone Beck and at the Cordon Bleu in Paris.  She requested diced tomatoes, chicken, garlic, parsley, salt, pepper, olive oil, fettuccine, parmesan, and basil for the recipe.

Beatrice knows what she’s doing, but it takes some time to make this dish, more than the hour and five minutes she estimated for cooking and prep, at least for a beginner.  Overall, the chicken was juicy and the dish permeated the air with Italian spices.  Apparently, though, I shouldn’t cook acidic items (like tomatoes) in an aluminum pan (whoops).  So next time it’ll be glass.

My Sunday night Super Bowl meal:

  • Appetizer: Romaine lettuce salad with black olives and champagne dressing
  • Main: Baked chicken and tomatoes with fettuccine recipe
  • Drink: Bourbon and diet Pepsi
  • Dessert: Yellow cake with chocolate icing

Baked chicken and tomatos with fettuccine and salad

My favorite ads of the Super Bowl: The Denny’s breakfast ads with screaming chickens.  Also, Career Builder’s “casual workday everyday”/ underwear at work ad and Audi’s Green Car of the Year commercial.

Side note: I loved The Who’s performance at half-time.  Roger Daltrey sounds great for 65 and Pete Townshend is a genius.

Thought for the week: “The qualities of an exceptional cook are akin to those of a successful tightrope walker: an abiding passion for the task, courage to go out on a limb and an impeccable sense of balance.” – Bryan Miller

Bryan Miller
3 Responses to "Brunch & Baked Chicken and Tomatoes with Fettucine"

That breakfast looks to die for…also, I love the pic of you in the snow!

um… so about that brunch being the most delectable meal ever….

…you should seriously make it for me every morning.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my cooking blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. All the cool kids are doing it!

Join 8 other followers

